Super Eagles coach Jose Peseiro has released a 23-man squad list of players to play Nigeria’s AFCON 2023 qualifying match against Sierra Leone in Monrovia next weekend.

The Portuguese gaffer went for familiar faces in naming his squad list this month. Assistant captain William Troost-Ekong is back on the squad list after missing the fixtures in March due to injury. The team’s captain Ahmed Musa and newly crowned Serie A champion Victor Osimhen are other stars that make up the roster for the game.

Meanwhile, Bendel Insurance’s Divine Nwachukwu gets a first-time call-up to the squad. The midfielder has been a revelation for the NPFL newcomers this season. Goalkeepers Olorunleke Ojo and Victor Sochima, as well as Lobi Stars left-back Ebube Duru are the other home-based players that are included in the list.


Goalkeepers: Adebayo Adeleye, Victor Sochima, Olorunleke Ojo

Defenders: William Ekong, Calvin Bassey, Kevin Akpoguma, Chidiebube Duru, Oluwasemilogo Ajayi, Kenneth Omeruo, Zaidu Sanusi, Bright Osayi-Samuel.

Midfielders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo, Alex Iwobi, Divine Nwachukwu, Wilfred Ndidi, Frank Onyeka.

Forwards: Moses Simon, Samuel Chukwueze, Ademola Lookman, Victor Osimhen, Taiwo Awoniyi, Kelechi Iheanacho, Ahmed Musa.

Nigeria sits top of their qualification group with nine points after four matches. They will face the Leone Stars on June 18 at the Samuel Kanyon Doe Stadium in Monrovia.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here