The final day of MTN CHAMPS Ibadan saw fireworks in the relays, with the Continental Team racing to victory in the men’s and women’s 4x100m on Monday, 8th April, at the Lekan Salami Stadium, to bring the curtains down on four days of intense and exciting competition amongst 153 schools and 72 Junior and Senior Teams.

African Games multiple medallist Olayinka Olajide anchored the Continental Team to victory in the women’s race, partnering with Prestina Ochonogor, Janet Adesiyan and Patricia Ahomakpo of Benin Republic to bring the baton home in a time of 46.60s, with Arena Academy, and Kwara State settling for Silver and Bronze respectively.

The men’s race was won by Continental B comprising Obashola Olaoluwa, John Caleb, Ganiyu Hassan and Hinwa Vignimou Gaston. The quartet took the title in 41.43s, with Continental Team A (Enoch Adegoke, Olaolu Olatunde, Jeremiah Nathaniel and Charles Akoda) winning Silver with a time of 41.76. OAU Spartans took the Bronze medal.

Unique Athletics won the Junior Girls’ 4x100m title in 48.93s ahead of D’Love Athletics (50.52s) and Kegbo Community.

Bodija International, Christ High School and Ogbogbo Bamties emerged medallists in the Cadet Boys’ 4x100m, while Anglican Comprehensive High , Oluyoro Girls and Ogbogbo Bamties took GOLD, Silver and Bronze respectively in the Girls’ event.

Prior to the relays, MTN CHAMPS Ambassador Adegoke claimed his second title of the competition as he stormed to the men’s 200m GOLD, crossing the line in 21.20s while Olaolu Olatunde also claimed his second medal at MTN CHAMPS Ibadan, this time a Silver, with a new lifetime best 21.36s; Jeremiah Nathaniel finished 3rd in 21.39s.

Olajide was in a class of her own in the women’s 200m final, coasting to victory in a time of 23.47s as 100m winner – Janet Adesiyan, and Silver medallist – Prestina Ochonogor, clocked an identical time of 24.55s in 2nd and 3rd.

Anglican High’s Goodnews Saturday was one of the standout performers of MTN CHAMPS Ibadan. The youngster claimed the sprint double in the Cadet (U14) Girls’ category, winning the 100m with a time of 13.36 to Salimot Sarafa’s 13.37s, while Anjolaoluwa Olubiyi placed 3rd in 13.70s.

Saturday then set her sights on the 200m and once again crossed the line ahead of Christ Girls’ Sarafa, stopping the clock at 27.48s as the latter followed in 27.68s.

Paul Olaoluwa of Anwar-UI-Islam beat FGC Ogbomoso’s Daniel Amoo to the Cadet Boys’ 100m title, with Sunday Adebola of Ogbogbo Bamties settling for 3rd.

Toheebat Adebisi of Luba Comprehensive dominated the Youth Girls’ 100m in 12.40s and was followed by Feyisayo Lawal of Ijebu Ode Grammar School (12.61s) and Dorcas Ogundipe, also of Luba Comprehensive.

Richard Adeyeye of Saint Joseph’s College finished ahead of Legacy International’s Kehinde Ojo in the Youth Boys’ 100m, while David Osuya of Team Ogogo took the Bronze.

Nevertheless, Ojo secured his revenge in the 200m as he crossed the line ahead of Osuya and Senoh Bangaly of Bodija International.

Ifeoluwa Ademoyegun of Lanreleke Sports (25.97s), Luba Comprehensive’s Dorcas Ogundipe (26.29s) and Glory Lazarus (26.31s) were the top finishers in the Youth Girls’ 200m.

John Caleb was another standout performer at MTN CHAMPS Ibadan, adding the 200m GOLD to the 100m title he won two days ago in the Junior category. Ajibare Ibrahim and Eniola Shiro settled for 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Mariam Jegede of Lanreleke returned a time of 24.84s to win the Junior Girls’ 200m, narrowly beating Ayomide Omotosho who posted 24.90s, and Tumnininu Sanyaolu of Altivelis who clocked 25.27s.

Runo Athe of Corona Day Secondary School won two titles: the Youth Boys’ Shot put and Discus throw respectively. He set a Personal Best of 10.30m in the former to finish ahead of Ayomide Adebayo and Greatness Ogunfunwa of Caleb British International School.

Matthew Ogon of Osheku Striders won the men’s 1500m in 4:11.50 ahead of Marvellous Olafare and Segun Israel Abodunrin.

Gbenga Bakre, Sodiq Adebisi and Moses Eze claimed 1st, 2nd and 3rd positions respectively in the men’s 400m Hurdles.

NSCDC’s Tobechukwu Emmanuel led the pack in the men’s Long Jump event, with Afoke Simon and Hope Okoro following.

Altivelis secured a 1-2 in the Junior Girls’ Long Jump as Mary Adediran led the way, with her teammate Deborah Solomon following, Taofikat Sulaimon winning the Bronze medal.

Yemi Galadima is a Senior Sportswriter and Editor at Making of Champions. She has a bias for Athletics and was previously a Sports Reporter at the National Mirror, where she hosted a weekly column ‘On the Track with Yemi Olus’ for over two years. A self-acclaimed ‘athletics junkie’, she has covered national and international events live, such as the African Athletics Championships, African Games, Olympics and World Athletics Championships. She also freelances for World Athletics.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here