Stella Nwosisi, GM, MTN Regional Operations (South West) with representatives of schools and Athletics Clubs that won trophies at MTN CHAMPS Ibadan.

After three days of intense and exciting competition at the Lekan Salami Stadium and University of Ibadan Sports Complex respectively, the winners of the five team trophies up for grabs, emerged on the final day of MTN CHAMPS, Ibadan.

Olivet Baptist emerged champions in the Girls’ Cadet (U-14) category with 51 points, finishing ahead of Oluyoro Grammar School and Queen of Apostles who bagged 42 points and 21 points respectively.

Fortress College won the Cadet Boys’ trophy with 43 points, going nearly 20 points clear of St. Peter Catholic as the latter claimed 26 points in 2nd place. Keke Senior was 3rd with 24 points.

Olivet Baptist and Fortress College won the Girls’ and Boys’ Cadet Trophies at MTN CHAMPS Ibadan.

Queen of Apostles amassed a total of 59 points to win the Youth (U-17) Girls’ trophy while Apata Ajele Community followed with 57 points, and Best Legacy International with 32 points.

However, Best Legacy International scored 52 points to exert revenge and claim the Youth Boys title ahead of Brightville College and Apata Ajele Community who scored 38 points and 34 points respectively.

Queen of Apostles and Best Legacy International won the Youth Girls’ and Boys’ Trophies at MTN CHAMPS Ibadan.

In an interesting turn of events, No Sweat Athletics Club and Altivelis both scored 119 points to emerge joint Junior Champions. TI Oyesina Model was 3rd with 110 points.

Best Legacy International’s Aishat Abiodun Muraina won the sprint double in the Cadet Girls’ class to emerge MVP, while Olamilekan Oladapo of Asegun Comprehensive was named the Cadet Boys MVP after storming to victory in the 100m.

No Sweat Athletics Club and Altivelis both scored 119 points to emerge joint Junior Champions.

Mariam Jegede of Lanreleke Sports Academy who won the Youth Girls’ 100m, became MVP in the category, and was joined by James Clifford who claimed the Boys’ 200m title for Brightville College.

In the Junior category, Tunmininu Sanyaolu of Altivelis who raced to victories in the 100m, 200m, and 100m Hurdles, emerged MVP, while Olalekan Owoyemi of Talented Champions, emerged the Boys MVP in the same category.

MVPs and Golden Performers from MTN CHAMPS Ibadan.

The four Golden Performers were Aina Precious Oluwakayode who finished Top 3 in the 100m and 200m; 200m Silver medallist in the Junior category – Kabiru Mohammed; Kehinde Okunola, the 100m Silver medallist in the Girls’ Youth class, and Ayomide Omotosho.

All six MVPs and four Golden Performers will be sponsored to the Grand Finale in Abuja, with the capital city also hosting the final leg of MTN CHAMPS.

Final Championship standings of MTN CHAMPS Ibadan.


Yemi Galadima is a Senior Sportswriter and Editor at Making of Champions. She has a bias for Athletics and was previously a Sports Reporter at the National Mirror, where she hosted a weekly column ‘On the Track with Yemi Olus’ for over two years. A self-acclaimed ‘athletics junkie’, she has covered national and international events live, such as the African Athletics Championships, African Games, Olympics and World Athletics Championships. She also freelances for World Athletics.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here