Nigeria will be represented by a team of up to 32 athletes when the 2021 World Athletics Junior Championships gets underway on Wednesday, July 18 in Nairobi, Kenya, comprising 17 male and 15 female athletes, according to the provisional list published by World Athletics on 8th August (which is subject to change).

Headlining the list is LSU athlete Favour Ofili whose time over 200m this season, makes her the 3rd fastest entrant for the event in the Kenyan capital behind the Namibian duo of Christine Mboma and Beatrice Masilingi. Joining her on the team for the 200m is Anita Taviore who currently runs for Boise State University and has a Personal Best (PB) of 23.18s.

Also named to the team is Imaobong Nse Uko who in the absence of the U.S. contingent to Nairobi, will compete in Nairobi in pole position as the fastest entrant for the women’s 400m with a time of 51.70s. She is to be joined by Opeyemi Oke who enters with a time of 53.56s.

The women’s 100m team is made up of Tima Godbless (11.48s), Praise Ofoku (11.50s) and Olayinka Olajide (11.66s).

On to the men’s team, Godson Brume who has the third fastest time by an U-20 in the world over 100m, is the fastest entrant with a time of 10.13s, just ahead of Favour Ashe who will enter as the second fastest man with 10.17s.

Erhire Best and David Aya are both listed for the men’s High Jump, while Nnamdi Chinecherem will also compete in the men’s Javelin Throw.

The bulk of the team comprises athletes who will be making their first international appearance for Nigeria, including the US-based duo of Udodi Chudi Onwuzirike who has Personal Bests (PB) of 10.23s and 20.78s in the 100m/200m, and Dubem Amene who has a PB of 46.40s over 400m. Here is the list below:


Praise Ofoku (100m, 4×100m)

Olayinka Olajide (100m, 4×100m)

Tima Godbless (100m, 4×100m)

Favour Ofili (200m, 4×100m, 4×400m)

Anita Taviore (200m, 4×100m)

Jennifer Chukwuka (4x100m)

Imaobong Nse Uko (400m, 4×400m)

Opeyemi Oke (400m, 4×400m)

Mercy Umoibang (400m, 4x400m)

Joy Osaretin (4×400m)

Josephine Oloye (4x400m)

Sarah Ochigbo (400mH)

Ruth Agadama (Long Jump)

Esther Osisike (Discus Throw)

Utitofon Sam (Discus Throw)



Favour Ashe (100m, 4×100m)

Godson Brume (100m, 4×100m)

Udodi Chudi Onwuzirike (100m, 200m, 4x100m)

Kingsley Unorji (4×100m)

Nicholas Mabilo (4×100m)

Iruoghene Okoro (4x100m)

Fakorede Adekalu (200m, 4x100m)

Dubem Amene (200m, 400m, 4x400m)

Bamidele Ajayi (400m, 4×400m)

Chidera Johnson (400m, 4×400m)

Prosper Ekporore (110mH)

Ezekiel Nathaniel (400mH, 4x400m)

Emmanuel Salubi (4x400m)

Victory Achakpoekiri (4x400m)

David Aya (High Jump)

Ehire Omamuyowi Best (High Jump)

Nnamdi Chinecherem (Javelin Throw)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here