Former President, Nigeria Table Tennis Federation (NTTF) Wahid Enitan Oshodi has been unanimously elected as the Deputy President of the African Table Tennis Federation (ATTF) at the virtual General Assembly of the continental body held on Saturday, June 5, 2021.

Despite competing unopposed, 22 of the 23 delegates that attended the assembly voted for Oshodi following his exemplary leadership in Africa, while Secretary General of the Nigeria Olympic Committee (NOC) Olabanji Oladapo won one of the eight slots of the Board of Directors (BOD) of ITTF and he was also named the chairman of the Advisory Council of ATTF.

An elated Oshodi assured the delegates of changes in the sport, while soliciting for their support.

“I am so grateful for this massive support and I believe we have started a journey that will lift the fortune of Table Tennis. I believe with your support, we can continue to raise the bar of the sport in Africa as well as compete with the rest of the world,” Oshodi said.

Egypt’s Khaled El-Salhy was also reelected for a third term in office as the President of ATTF.

El-Salhy was elected unanimously by the 23 delegates that attended the first virtual General Assembly in the history of the federation.

An elated El-Salhy also assured the delegates of more innovation in the sport in line with the International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF).

Also, Oshodi, who is the Chairman of the ITTF Nomination Committee, replaced compatriot – Olabanji Oladapo, while Cameroon’s Alfred Bagueka Assobo returned as the Executive Vice President (EVP), Administration, with former EVP, Marketing, Hajera Kajee being elected as EVP, Finance while Tunisia’s Lotfi Guerfel was elected as EVP, Marketing. Andrew Mudibo of Kenya is the new EVP, Development, while Cote d’Ivoire’s Germain Karou is the EVP, Technical. Rwanda Table Tennis Federation (RTTF) President, John Birungi is the new EVP, Media and Public Relations.

For ITTF Board of Directors (BOD), Nigeria’s Oladapo, Kenya’s Mudibo, Cameroon’s Assobo, South Africa’s Joe Carrim, Ghana’s Mawuko Afadzinu, Libya’s Mohamed Aldaeiki, Algeria’s Cherif Deerkaoui and Uganda’s Thomas Kiggudou won the African slots in the world body.

For regional Vice President, Uganda’s Robert Jagwe (Central), Algeria’s Bouzziane Errahmani (North), Congo Brazzaville’s John Okouna (East) and Benin Republic’s Ferdinand Sonou (West) were elected.

Apart from the election, some vital decisions were agreed especially as it concerns the athletes as the delegates approved the use of the world ranking for seedings in continental tournaments, while delegates also approved the appointment of an Advisory Council chaired by Nigeria’s Oladapo. A four-year Strategic Plan of ATTF was also adopted by the delegates

In his remarks, CEO of ITTF Steve Dainton commended the delegates for their efforts and commitment to the sports while congratulating the new executives. He however, charged them to continue to raise the bar of the sport as ITTF would continue to support the continent in its quest to popularise Table Tennis in Africa.



Latifat Adebayo (@phatill) is a Digital Sports Journalist, a content creator and social media enthusiast.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here