Esther Oribamise and Bello Fatimo in a doubles match in the Women's team event

G20 Table Tennis Club of Abuja and Ondo State have emerged champions in the team event of the 2021 Nigeria Table Tennis Federation (NTTF) National Championships taking place  at the Molade Okoya-Thomas Hall of Teslim Balogun Stadium in Lagos.

It was National Sports Festival (NSF) Champion Fatimo Bello who inspired the G20 ladies into victory over Lagos State in the women’s final while Azeez Solanke spearheaded their men’s onslaught against Ondo.

In the men’s final, Ondo were down 2-0 in the singles after Azeez Solanke and Ahmed Bello defeated Amadi Omeh and Taiwo Mati 3-2 each, but the doubles pair of Wale Fagbamila and Mati restored the match for Ondo with a convincing 3-2 win over the pair of Solanke and Bello in the doubles match.

Mati continued his good run with a nail-biting tie against Solanke with the Ondo No.1 having an edge with a 3-2 win to put the tie at 2-2 major.

Amadi Omeh looks to the sky after winning the title winning match in the men’s team event

In the deciding match between Bello and Amadi, it was the Ondo star that aided the victory with a 3-2 win to give Ondo a 3-2 overall win.

For their victory, G20 and Ondo have each fetched themselves the N200,000 star prize for team champions.

Meanwhile, the tournament enters Day 3 on Thursday, May 20, with matches in the singles event.

The group matches of the singles were concluded on Wednesday, May 19, while the knockout round of the singles will take centre stage as well as doubles and mixed doubles events in the men and women categories.

The tournament is organized by NTTF in collaboration with the Lagos State Sports Commission (LSSC).

Latifat Adebayo (@phatill) is a Digital Sports Journalist, a content creator and social media enthusiast.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here