The six recipients of the Aruna Quadri kits sponsorship

In continuation of his philanthropic gesture, Nigeria international Quadri Aruna on Monday confirmed kit sponsorships of six Table Tennis players for the next year.

In an audio message by Aruna, the Oyo State-born athlete said the initiative was borne out of his desire to groom more top players like himself.

“I am using this opportunity to thank the Table Tennis family for their support in these trying times and to urge us to stay safe as we continue to fight this pandemic globally. In my usual way of giving back to the society as well as supporting new talents in Nigeria,  I will be supporting some players at the 2021 NTTF National Championships and I wish all the players best of luck and let the tournament begin,” the Portugal-based star said.

Speaking during the presentation in Lagos on Monday, the Chairman of ITTF Nomination Committee, Wahid Enitan Oshodi said Aruna has become a shining light in Table Tennis with his kind gesture towards young players in the country, while urging other top players to take a cue from him.

Oshodi also announced that the four new players who distinguished themselves during the National Championships would also benefit from Aruna’s gesture during the grand finale on Saturday, May 22.

Six table tennis players received a year kits sponsorship courtesy Aruna Quadri

World No.1 in the U-13 category, Musa Mustapha and his sibling, Mustapha Mustapha from Borno State, as well as Kabirat Ayoola of Oyo State and Aishat Rabiu were the four cadet players that will be kitted by Aruna for one year. The duo of Taiwo Mati and Azeez Solanke got renewal for their kit sponsorships for another year.

A delighted Mati commended Aruna for the support while promising to continue to work harder to emulate the African Champion.

Other players that have benefited from Aruna’s kits sponsorship include Sukurat Aiyelabegan (Kwara), Muiz Olanrewaju (Oyo), Nurudeen Hassan (Lagos), Olajide Omotayo (Lagos), Fatimo Bello (Lagos), Abdulahi Afolabi (Lagos), Taiwo Balogun (Lagos), Ademola Abiola (Oyo) and Tobi Falana (Kwara).

Also Paralympics debutants – Isau Ogunkunle (Ogun) and Faith Obazuaye (Delta) have benefited as well.

Each player is expected to get two pairs of rubbers, blades, T-shirts, shorts, a tracksuit, a pair of shoes, socks, a towel, a bat case, a backpack and a cap.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here